Twin Bridges: After and Before

Twin Bridges

Yesterday, I mentioned that after our monthly photo shoot our photo group had a very helpful editing session that rendered so-so photos into something worth sharing on my blog. Our instructor is really very creative and skilled. This is the second shot. There was a request to also show the original photo. It is below.

Twin Bridges - Original

To enhance the photo, the following changes were made using Lightroom:
– The photo was straightened and cropped
– The overall exposure and contrast were increased
– Highlights and whites were decreased
– Shadows and blacks were increased
– Clarity and vibrance were increased
– A graduated filter was employed to bring out the lower right corner

12 thoughts on “Twin Bridges: After and Before

  1. milfordstreet Post author

    Thank you…I really didn’t think this would turn out this well. Our intsructor is really quite good. He runs a fairly successful studio and does this all the time.

    Reply
  2. Emilio Pasquale

    After working with Lightroom for about 6 months, I’m not sure I would ever get Photoshop. True there are some things Lightroom can not do, but right now I don’t feel I need any more than what I’ve got. It’s amazing what Lightroom can bring out in a photo. I’ve received some great comments on photos I initially thought were terrible. I like what you’ve done with the photo above. So much more to see than in the original. And the original was none too shabby!

    Reply
  3. milfordstreet Post author

    Thank you for the kind words about my photo and edits. I am in agreement with you in your feelings about Lightroom and Photoshop. I’ve seen what our instructor can do with portraits in Photoshop. Portraits are a large part of his work and his post-processing is amazing. But I rarely do portraits and they are more street portraits. Like you, Lightroom suits my current needs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

