The Historic Erie Canal

As I’ve been mentioning cycling the route of the Erie Canal, a few people have told me they are unfamiliar with the canal. Completed in 1825, the Erie Canal stretched 363 miles (584 km) from Buffalo, NY to Albany, NY. It allowed goods and materials to be inexpensively transported by water from the Midwest to the Port of New York for trade and export. This helped a growing country to expand economically and geographically. It made New York City the chief port and economic center of the US. Several cities sprang up along the route to service the needs of those traveling the canal. Eventually, much of the materials previously brought by canal barges began to be transported by rail. In 1918, the historic canal was replaced with a more modern waterway.

20 thoughts on “The Historic Erie Canal

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you…Yes, we returned the other day and I’ve been editing ever since. These were shot with a Lumix that I got for the trip. It is small and lightweight yet allowed me to shoot in RAW and use many of the bells and whistles the Canon has. Otto mentioned it on his site and gave me the idea.

      Reply
  1. Alexandra

    very beautiful shots, Chris… kinda have the atmosphere I’ve imagined in “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer” πŸ™‚ I like the one with the steam coming out of the boat very much… πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. milfordstreet Post author

    Thank you…ah, you like the tug boat. It is cute. There is a children’s book here about a tugboat. I think your boys maybe a bit too old for it now, though. It does have a Tom Sawyer type of feel to it; I had not put that connection together. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. brecore

    I love seeing all of the pictures you’ve been posting of New York. I’m from a small town mid-way between Albany and Saratoga, so I recognize a lot of places in your photos, but it’s always amazing how pretty these places can seem in pictures, when in “real life” they just seem so ordinary. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

