Mt. Washington Panorama

Mt Washington Hotel

This week’s WPC, ephemeral, got me thinking as I drove to the White Mountains today that it would be one of the last times I’ll be making snowy photos for a bit. Thus, I took a tour to go out on a high note. Over the next week, the results of today’s activities will be posted here.

This image came about because I recently read about Microsoft ICE, a free, downloadable application that can stitch together a series of photos to make a panorama. I’ve made images from this location before. It is Mount Washington and the Mount Washington Hotel as viewed from the hotel parking lot across the road. I put my camera on a tripod to keep the shots at the same level and made a series of four overlapping images. I then edited the exposure in the same fashion for each. ICE did the rest, pretty much…I had a few choices.

17 thoughts on “Mt. Washington Panorama

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Oh, thank you. I’ve wanted to try making a panoramic photograph for a while but don’t use Photoshop. This is a great, no-cost, easy way to make them. Thank you, again – Cheers.

      Reply
  1. milfordstreet Post author

    Thank you….If you get the right day, the perfect location is so easy. ICE is pretty cool. And not to get all musical on you or anything but “ICE,ICE BABY” 😉

    Reply
  2. Nancy

    So… I need to look into this Microsoft Ice. We go out into the high country of the desert quite often. Using this could help show what I actually see “out there in them thar hills!” 😉
    Nice panoramic by the way!

    Reply
  3. milfordstreet Post author

    Thank you…It is worth checking out and would be great for where you live. The demo I saw online showed it in a plaza in Germany and it was very cool. I had to download some plug-in and then ICE…both were from Microsoft. Then I uploaded the jpg images. You need some overlap in the images, like a third to the image. That allows the software to line them up. If you want I can send you a link to a video about it from Tony Northrup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

