Gasholder House

For many years, I wondered about this seemingly abandoned and fenced off structure in downtown Concord, NH. I was told it was a gas holder house, which according to Wikipedia is a structure built to surround an iron gasholder in which gas is stored until it is needed.

One day last week after work, I stopped to make some images. The fence combined with a few trees and power lines, made getting good camera angles a trick but here is my best attempt. I also wondered what it looked like inside. These BW images are from the Library of Congress and included interior and exterior views.

14 thoughts on “Gasholder House

  1. prior

    look alike you stopped to get your photos at just the right time on such nice day – the shadows are my favorite part – and just love the brick. the LOC images are nice to contrast also – 🙂

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you. It is not far from work, so I waited for a day and time with good light. At first, I saw the tree as an obstacle but the shadow on the brick did make for a nice image. Cheers.

      Reply
      1. izza ifzaal

        Chris! I also have a nag for touring such places! I wish I could do that somehow meanwhile I am happy you keep updating 🙂

Leave a Reply

