Frye’s Measure Mill

Fryes Measure Mill

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Frye’s Measure Mill has been water powered since the 1850’s. They continue to fashion round and oval pantry boxes, measures, and piggins (like a wooden ladle) as they have done for years. The also reproduce Shaker boxes using the panstaking methods pioneered by the Shakers themselves. I hope to return on a Satudray this summer or fall and take a tour of the manufacturing process. More photos are below.

Fryes Measure Mill - Measure Mill Boxes

Fryes Measure Mill - Derrick

Fryes Measure Mill - Derrick Top

19 thoughts on “Frye’s Measure Mill

  1. milfordstreet Post author

    Thank you Teri. I still think a summer shot there will be even better. It is only 20 minutes from home. There is spotty snow but we are expecting 1-3 inches tonight. Cheers

    Reply
  2. izza ifzaal

    Just a quick question Chris 🙂 Are all such intriguing images near your workplace or you have to go all the way for picture hunt! ? & Again its Awesomeee! 🙂

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Hello Izza: Thank you. My shots are a mix of both local and distant. The gas holder and Frye’s Measure Mill are close to either work or home. For the photos last week (Flume, fancy hotel, old train station and train), I planned a day long shoot in an area about two hours from where I live. Once I drove the two hours, all the locations were close to one another. I often do this to get enough photos to keep this blog going. This weekend, I will travel to the ocean. Does this make sense? Thank you again and have a great day. Cheers, Chris

      Reply
      1. izza ifzaal

        Yeah !it does and I same the share adventurous streak but cant gone all alone to get such shots!Keep sharing! Cheers 🙂

  3. loisajay

    You live in one beautiful region. This building is beautiful–as are all the photos. Tell them you need time off from work ’cause we want more pictures! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Colleen Ann

    Frye’s is 20 minutes from me as well, but surprisingly I have never been. There are so many hidden historical sites in that Wilton/Temple area that I want to explore!

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Ah, you’re west of Frye’s though, right? Wilton is very interesting and all i know of Temple is going over the mountain on 101. We do live in a great place.

      Reply
  5. barrira

    You should totally put up all your pictures together with their information and publish a journal of sort ❤
    I love the stuff you share ^_^

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Oh, thank you Barrira. That makes me so happy to hear you say that. I have ideas about such things, but it is challenge as it is to just keep publishing what I do. I also have work and other activities. It is fun to share it in this format, though. Maybe one day, if things slow down a bit, I could do something more. 😀 Cheers

      Reply

Leave a Reply

