Boston: My PhotoWalks Challenge

Part of being a photographer, whether amateur or professional, is learning to see; to be able look at the same thing that everyone else looks at and find a way to make a compelling image. Having spent most of my life in the Boston area and feeling like I know most of it well, I decided to book a tour with PhotoWalks in order to both assess and challenge my ability to see. I wondered whether they could show me shots that I’d not considered in my previous travels. Some of the areas we went to were well known to me and others were less familiar. Over the next week or show, I’ll show you images from the tour and discuss my experience.

I met Saba, the founder of PhotoWalks at the Memorial to Robert Gould Shaw and the Massachusetts Fifty-Fourth Regiment . I’ve walked by this sculpture dozens of times and have even previously photographed it. But Saba has been doing this for thirteen years. She encouraged us to get away from showing the whole and focus on the sections and even the small details, like the drum. Here are six of the images I made; some with suggestions from Saba. As a reference, I’ve included below a complete photo of the sculpture. Photo credit: Wikipedia.

Lesson learned: For large complex scenes, there can be value in looking at parts and using unique perspectives rather than trying to show the whole.

For those of you planning to visit Boston and are interested in going out with PhotoWalks, please go to http://www.photowalks.com.

Cheers!

300px-St_GaudensShaw_Mem

24 thoughts on “Boston: My PhotoWalks Challenge

  1. عابرةسبيل

    I am not expert in photography
    I just enjoy seeing nice photos
    But I like seeing the whole and the parts
    Your shots are great

    Reply
  2. Himali Shah

    You have captured such minute details in your 6 photographs. I really agree with the point you’ve put forward that we should see the smaller parts of a large complex structure.. I love this shoot. . I’m eager to see Boston from your lens.. great going.. Keep clicking 📷📷✌✌

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you, Himali…The sculpture really are remarkable in itslevel of detail. The sculptor was a genius. I’m glad you like it. The clicking part is done. It is rainy today and perfect for getting posts ready to show you more of Boston over the coming days.

      I hope you’re having a nice evening.

      Cheers =)

      Reply
      1. Himali Shah

        Ohh that’s so nice to hear.. looking forward for a Boston Photo Tour with Chris.. 🙂 🙂
        And oh yes… rainy days add beauty to pictures many fold.. hope you had a lovely day clicking beautiful pictures. . 🙂 it’s almost 10 pm here in India. . Monday awaits tomorrow morning !! 😐

  3. richholschuh

    I have experienced this moving piece (and its captivating vignettes) at its creator’s studio retreat in Cornish, NH… I recommend a visit to see the place where Augustus St. Gauden lived and worked. It is a magical place. Thank you for sharing your own insights!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

