WPC: Under Your Feet

Under My Feet - The Freedom Trail

Boston was a rebellious city in the 1770s and served as the flash-point igniting the revolution for our independence. In the 1950’s people got the idea to link 16 historic sites from this era together in a meandering walking tour called the Freedom Trail. In my time, the trail has been marked by a painted red line, shoe prints painted on the sidewalk and today, a brick path like this in the North End.

Has anyone out there walked the entire Freedom Trail?

25 thoughts on “WPC: Under Your Feet

      1. mickey2travel

        True. You wouldn’t think that walking just 2 1/2 miles would take hours, but with all the great historic churches and cemeteries, and other buildings to read about, it does take all day! I believe I still have all the brochures in a box somewhere! Just not an historic costume….

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      That is very perceptive of you Jackie…I have great memories of walking this for the first time as a boy with my grandparents. It was amazing that you could still see places that we learned about in history classes…Cheers

      Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      It takes a good day and you have to manage your time to get it all in. It’s like 2.5 miles, but with all the stops and seeing everything, it can take a while. Enjoy

      Reply
  1. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

    I’m sad to say that I haven’t walked it. Maybe we should have a meeting of New England bloggers all carrying our assorted cameras and walk together? But, please make the meeting place right near North or South Station so I don’t get lost before I start. LOL πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Yeah…I think they loose a lot of walkers around Quincy Market. There is so much there and the next stop (Paul Revere’s House) is a bit of a trek. Thank you and Cheers =)

      Reply
  2. photobyjohnbo

    Alas, I’d love to report I walked the entire trail, but our short visit to Boston precluded that. I did, however, walk much of the trail. So much history… so little time. It’s on my bucket list to complete.

    Reply
  3. laurieanichols

    My children have, during school trips. I don’t think I have though I must have done a close circuit over the years, I would think. Great perspective and definitely one that isn’t often used. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

