Boston Old and New

Old Meets New

On Monday, I showed a black and white version of this building with Genaros restaurant on the ground floor. This view is moving 90 degrees counter-clockwise. It is a busy image with many elements and yet I like how the top left corner shows the skyscrapers of downtown, while the rest of the image (excepting the car) shows much earlier architecture from the late 19th and early 20th century. I used a Lightroom preset to edit the colors and liked the tones from this particular selection.

37 thoughts on “Boston Old and New

  1. SOHEIR

    Beautiful image
    Boston is great indeed with its new and old sights
    Everyday I know something new about Boston and its history
    Thanks Chris for sharing that with us
    Have a great day
    Cheers:-)

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Hello Soheir
      I am glad you like this and about learning about Boston. It is my pleasure to share it with you and others.
      I hope that you are having a great day, also.
      Cheers =)

      Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Nice to meet you Kerry. Thank you, I am glad that you enjoyed the photo. Yes, I pahked the cah in Post Office Squa-uh. ha ha ha. I’ve lost a lot of my accent but not all. Come visit and you’ll hear it all over town. Cheers =)

      Reply
      1. milfordstreet Post author

        I was surprised at the amount of Scandinavian blood in my veins but figure it must be from when the Vikings invaded Ireland. Nothing like a little Viking blood to keep things interesting in the gene pool.

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Hello Jackie…Pleased to meet you. We used to vacation on Cape Cod as kids and now my parents live there. Another great place. I’m glad you enjoyed the images…Thank you.
      Cheers =)

      Reply
  2. Alexandra

    beautiful scene from Boston!! the preset colors work great here!!
    what aperture did you use, the clarity and sharpness are stunning even on the far off building… great capture!!

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you…I wanted the buildings in the back blurred and shot at f 2.8 but at a 42 mm focal length. I still like the shot, probably better than it I’d gotten the blurring. Go figure…=P
      I appreciate the comment about the preset colors because I was not sure.

      Reply
  3. archecotech

    My Great Grandfather was a Architect in Boston. I’ve often wondered what his work looked like. One day I’ll travel there and explore and see if any of his work is still standing. Thanks for reminding me.

    Reply
  4. milfordstreet Post author

    Wow…that is pretty cool. I spent a lot of time researching family history and visited some church gates my great-great grandfather made in a town in Ireland. He was a blacksmith. Let me know if I can be of any help in your search. Cheers =)

    Reply
  5. franciscocamacho2016

    You’re welcome Milford..!!! Yes..it is the Geraro’s .., Really is a very nice place..!!! Hace a good night my friend..!!! : o )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

