Feast of St. Anthony

St Anthonys Feast - Statue Amidst Confetti
A big part of the celebrations of the saints is bringing the statue of the saint from the church or chapel where it is housed most of the year to be paraded through the streets and put out for everyone to see in a sort of open air chapel. This photo show’s the statue of St. Anthony after entering the streets of Boston’s North End. There was a blessing and then confetti and fireworks.

I share the photo credit with my wife on this one. The crowd was absolutely packed and she watched my camera bag and tripod while I waded into the masses. Somehow, we managed to find each other again later.

28 thoughts on “Feast of St. Anthony

      1. zdunno03

        Certainly no St. Anthony’s or San Gennaro festivals here. And I miss Italian pork sausage. That’s why I try to go to Italy at least once a year.

  1. SOHEIR

    Very nice image Chris
    The statue with the money on it and the crowd of people ..it seems to be a nice adventure..
    Have a good day Chris
    πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Hello Soheir
      Thank you for your nice comment…It was an amazing place to be with all of the people. My wife and I enjoyed it very much.
      Have a good day also.
      Cheers =)

      Reply
  2. loisajay

    This shot is amazing! I’m Italian on my dad’s side and St Anthony and St Joseph were the ‘big’ saint celebrations in NJ when I was growing up. I really love this photo–it brings it all back home to me. Thanks so much for the memories.

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you. So I learnt a bit about confetti shooting that night. If you shoot while there is a ton of it in the air, the shot is a mess. This image was taken as the flurry of paper was subsiding. Who knew ? Cheers.

      Reply
  3. Jason

    Hi.

    You photos are wonderful. I am a member of the committee that organizes the Saint Anthony Feast. I am so happy that you and your wife nejoyed yourselves. (happy your didint get lost either!)

    We would love to use your photos on our social media posts and webiste. Please let me know if you are interested.

    Thanks
    Jason
    committee@stanthonysfeast.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

