Salem Street


While all the tourists love Hanover Street in Boston’s North End, I recently discovered Salem Street, just one block over. It has it’s share of restaurants and bakeries, perhaps a bit smaller but without the crowds. If the line at Mike’s Pastry is enormous, cut over to Bova’s…the cannoli is just as wonderful. A Boston TV show, just featured Polcari’s as one of the more unique stores in the city. You can get both a haircut and a tattoo while sipping coffee at Boston Barber Co. So, park your bike and check out Salem Street.

29 thoughts on “Salem Street

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you, Soheir, for both the compliment and the knowledge.
      Your comment got me thinking and I checked the source of all great wisdom in the universe: Wikipedia. I assume Salem St is named after the nearby city of Salem. The city of Salem was given it’s name to mean ‘peace’. The founders of the city saw the word in their Bible. Cool, I learned something new. Thank you, again. Cheers and have a great day. =)

      Reply
      1. izza ifzaal

        You are soo devil πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ bakery items are soo tempting but sadly I am on a diet πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you…There were some cool images painted on those corrugated metal security doors that some shops use at night but the waves of the corrugation made them difficult to photograph well. I liked the Mercato Pizza though…I have to start eating at some of these places. Thank you for the comment and cheers!

      Reply
  1. Nancy

    My kind of area. Great pictures of a cool place!
    I just visited little Italy of Cleveland… a tradition for me to always visit at Christmas Time… Another cool neighborhood as well.

    Reply
      1. Nancy

        I did get a few… and hopefully will share. But I do have to say… it was the cannoli from Corbos Bakery that got all my attention. πŸ˜‰

      2. milfordstreet Post author

        Yeah…I’m a sucker for cannoli. And there are so many varieties now. The bakery on Salem St is open 24/7; which is good to know if I wake up at 2 AM and HAVE TO hav e a cannoli.

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Yes, it is such a nice street. I know of only one other like it in the downtown area. After the holidays, I want to make some photos inside of Polcaris. It is supposed to be quite the place inside. Cheers!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

