Guess Whose Coming to Milford


Not Milford Street but the neighboring town of the same name. This past weekend, we received an invitation to see former U.S. President Bill Clinton speak at a local school in support of his wife’s campaign. I’d heard that he is a very charismatic speaker and despite having been out of office since 2001 and aging a bit, he is still a thoroughly engaging and charismatic speaker. Many charismatic speakers speak using their hands. Just look at the variety of hand gestures that former President Clinton used in this hour-long speech.

20 thoughts on “Guess Whose Coming to Milford

  1. Osyth

    These are quite captivating shots – I found myself moving through the gallery several times watching his expression change. The penultimate one is a strong reminder of what a leader he was. Clearly the man, though aging like us all, is still that charismatic being.

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you…Yes, the one with his arms out wide. He is still a very animated speaker. Shooting inside without a flash, I thought my shutter speed was plenty fast but he is such an animated guy that I have a lot of shots with his hands in a blur.

      Reply
    2. milfordstreet Post author

      Argh – I accidentally trashed your last comment…Sorry. My poor typing skills strike again. I wanted to reply. I agree that his type of charisma is typical of the great ones. There is an interesting website scienceofpeople.com that has a lot of material on how we present and the founder believes charisma can be taught. It’s actually a pretty fun site.

      Reply
      1. Osyth

        Haha! I didn’t feel a thing as I disappeared into that bin! I’ll look that site up – right up my street. Certainly Margaret Thatcher was taught to be more engaging and I am seeing echoes (not politically I hasten to add) in Hilary. Thanks for the tip πŸ™‚

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you. Yes, his hands definitely give his words more power. Many charismatic people use their hands when they speak. Having your hands out also causes people to trust you more. Cheers.

      Reply
  2. Mithai Mumblezz

    Clinton is a favourite world wide. I don’t know much about American politics, but he’s roads scholar and that can be felt in his speeches as well….he was quite popular here during his presidential days.
    And its wonderful you got to attend his speeches and click such nice shots πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

