Baby, It’s Cold Outside

Blue Morning-3

When it gets bitterly cold, there can be an effect called Arctic Sea Smoke in which the cold air and warmer ocean water cause mist to come off the water. With temps of -5F/-22C yesterday morning, I ventured down to Boston to make some images. The Boston Harbor Hotel offered a great back patio area from which to shoot and a Starbucks in which to warm up. This is one of the images I made while waiting for the sun to do its thing. That tower in the background is the control tower for Boston’s Logan Airport.

Thank you to meteorologist Harvey Leonard for his help in planning this shoot.

65 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you. I know, it could be a steam bath, like the Blue Lagoon in Iceland, but it is not. It was really dangerously cold and I had to plan the shoot carefully to make sure I had resources to get warm.

      Reply
      1. Prior-01

        Yes – but it happens – so many duds or times when things don’t turn out – and glad you did not get frost bite ❄️❄️❄️❄️❄️❄️

      2. milfordstreet Post author

        Even if I don’t get the conditions I want, I can usually get a few shots out of a trip. The frostbite issue was a bit touch and go at one point. =P

  1. Nancy

    Brrrr….. Brrrrr…… !!!
    A neat shot!
    How you get up so early is one thing and then to go out and do the shoot and then HAVE IT BE SOOOOO COLD!?! Amaaaaazing!

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you so much Soheir. Sometimes the rivers will also have steam when it is cold. It does not have to be below 0, there just has to be a big difference in temps between the air and water. Have you ever seen this on the Nile?

      Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Hi Sarah: Thank you…It was an adventure!…Honestly, if I did not have a place I could go to warm up, I would not have gone. At least, I know the area well enough that I could plan this. Cheers!

      Reply
      1. milfordstreet Post author

        Good evening Sarah:
        I have a serious Starbucks habit. The baristas at the local shop know my order and start working on it the moment I walk in. Nothing fancy, mid you…just really strong coffee. It is slowly warming up here. Cheers,
        Chris

      2. Miss Gentileschi

        Hi Chris – I know exactly what you mean;) And isnΒ΄t it wonderful that they do?! Makes you feel very welcome:) I used to drink lots of flavoured coffee for a while but happily returned to the “normal” brew – just hot and strong and the day can begin;) Have a wonderful week! Cheers, Sarah:)

  2. Osyth

    Oh I’m so glad you took this picture … they mentioned sea-smoke on the weather forecast yesterday but I had no real idea what it is. All is clear now. Or smokey πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Oh, thank you so much. I’m glad you like it. I must say, the conditions made it a challenging shoot but the results made it all worthwhile. I’ll have to check out your site. Nice meeting you….Cheers

      Reply
      1. Allison

        I have a mad thing for boats . . . and the mist – oh! It takes the breath. Much respect for your beautiful skills and choice of glorious subjects. πŸ™‚ Nice to meet you as well!

  3. Alexandra

    I’m speechless here… it’s absolutely gorgeous and I like it even better after I’ve read you went out in a very cold weather to take the shot… great work!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

