Portsmouth Harbor Light

Portsmouth Harbor Lighthouse 1

With good weather yesterday, I headed to the coast to make some photos and get back to using new materials. My plans were to visit a WWII fort and the Portsmouth Harbor Lighthouse. The government had other ideas about my visiting the lighthouse. It sits on a Coast Guard Station and was off limits today. I’d visited last summer and noticed a way to the light house along the beach. I made my way over there and well, the image below shows how well that worked. Luckily, I had a tele-zoom lens with me and could make some images from a far. Cheers!

Portsmouth Harbor Lighthouse - No Go

36 thoughts on “Portsmouth Harbor Light

  1. williamleeone

    I love lighthouse images whether photographed, painted or drawn. Perhaps because I have never seen one in person they hold a bit of mystery and a sense of fortitude for me. [They seem to be sentinels guarding the coastline of the country.] Where did the feds come up with the badge inspired insignia, anyway? A bit authoritarian don’t you think? OOOH ! Scary ! ; )

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      They are pretty cool. I think some are prettier than others and really like this one. There is one I want to photograph this summer that involves a 3 mile hike across sand dunes. Well the sign did its job. I stayed off the Coast Guard base. Bah-humbug.

      Reply
      1. williamleeone

        In case you tire of these early morning jaunts and hikes, in good weather or bad, through thick and thin, In order to bring these otherwise unattainable images to us, the landlocked and coddled masses, Please remember this, “I really appreciate you ! ” ; )

      2. milfordstreet Post author

        No and for precisely that reason. I think it all changes when you have to perform and please others to make your rent. It is also a very crowded field. I’ll let the pros do their thing.

  2. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

    I love this lighthouse and usually grab shots from New Castle Common. You did good from afar. It is always interesting how the area is open or closed based on terror level, guests, etc., and when it is closed it always makes me wonder why. 🙂

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you. I did stop at Great Common and have a shot from there later this week, perhaps tomorrow. I found a site that said they open the gate on Saturdays during the summer. It seems a bit overkill to have such security for the Coast Guard, but that’s just me. Cheers!

      Reply
  3. Miss Gentileschi

    Wonderful composition, Chris! I can easily see this pictures made into a painting:) I love lighthouses – ever since reading The Famous Five by Enid Blyton as kid I dreamed of living in one! I love the idea to shape your furniture to make it fit with the round walls;) And wouldn´t it be great to hear those waves splashing against the rocks?

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you, Sarah. I don’t know the Famous Five and will have to Google it later. The Lighthouse does have all kinds of odd shaped things inside, but most of the lighthouse is very functional and there is a Keeper’s house nearby. It looks like I can get out there this summer on a Saturday.
      Interesting you should mention a painting. A friend, who is an artist, asked if she could see the images I made with the idea of making painting or drawing. It is great subject matter. Cheers!

      Reply
      1. Miss Gentileschi

        The Famous Five are children´s adventure novels and were the first books I´ve read when I was a child and therefore my favourite book-series forever:)
        I would love to see the painting when it´s finished! It´s been wonderful chatting with you so long today, Chris:) Have a great sunday!

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you, Osyth. It is one of my favorite lighthouses. It is funny when the gate is open. You must stay on the blue line until you get to the fort and light house. At least they provide some amusement. =)

      Reply
  4. Alexandra

    if the government knew you had a zoom lens, they would have put the fence even further away from the light house lol 😀 it’s good you had that zoom lens, that’s a lovely scene… 🙂

    Reply
  5. Stephanae V. McCoy

    What I wouldn’t give to see the inside of a lighthouse. A friend of mine told me just a couple of weeks ago she went on a tour of one. She said going up was fine but coming down was a little challenging for her but overall she had a great experience.

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Some are easier than others to get in and out of. Often there is a circular staircase that gets you just below the level of the lamp and then a set of steps and a trap door. That is how this one is. I visited last summer. The staff there are good about keeping everyone safe. Cheers!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

