Gate 2

The old Gate 2 at Charlestown Navy Yard.

20 thoughts on “Gate 2

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thanks, Monica. I wanted the images to look like they were taken back in the 1940s. That was when the Navy Yard was busiest. My father said that after the Second World War, the harbor was just full of navy ships. ⛵️

      Reply
      1. milfordstreet Post author

        I think so too. My great grandfather worked there for a time. He was trained as a blacksmith when he was a boy in Ireland. I wonder if he worked making and repairing metal parts for the ships. It’s cool to think of this. Cheers.

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Oh, thank you Sarah. What a compliment ! I’d have loved to have seen this place in its days of glory. I’ve a vague recollection of visiting when I was a boy. It closed a few years later.
      Are you feeling any better?

      Reply
      1. Miss Gentileschi

        I´m sure it must have been a very impressive sight indeed! Too sad it´s closed now…
        Oh, yes! I´m feeling lots better, thanks! I´ve been to the doctor yesterday and he said that it´s not just a cold but sinusitis (explains the awful headache I´ve had) and prescribed antibiotics – and it´s already helping! Very effective stuff I think:) And just in time, too – we´re going to have the first warm weekend over here (about 22 degrees Celsius) and I don´t want to miss it! Wish you a beautiful weekend, Chris! Cheers 🙂

  1. Alexandra

    great set… looks abandoned… makes one curious what is this place, where does Gate 2 leave to? 🙂 love the second take on Gate 2, the one with the lamp and the brick wall…!!

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you, Alex…I leads to the old navy yard. I think it was the entrance for trucks making deliveries and such. It is so cool that they’ve not done much to change it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

