Print Type

Print Type

A tray of old style print type at a local art studio

18 thoughts on “Print Type

      1. Stephanae V. McCoy

        Yes I did. It was back in ’78 though so I barely remember all that I learned but the teacher took us through the history of print. We learned how to set type on a teletypesetter, make plates, shoot and strip negatives, take to press and even could break down the printing presses. Ah those were the days. I’d be interested to see how much this has changed since everything is now digital.

      2. milfordstreet Post author

        They have a digital lab also but I liked the traditional methods. There is something about it. I even liked the smell of the ink. It sounds like you had a great class.

      3. Stephanae V. McCoy

        I thought it was just me but I too liked the smell of the ink and learning the history helped me to appreciate how far we came back in the the 70s. The class was awesome, received my certificate and did the silliest thing in my life, turned down a scholarship to Rochester Institute of Technology. I blame it on youth being wasted on the young b/c if I had wisdom back then my life would have taken a different path but it turned out okay.

      4. milfordstreet Post author

        I know what you mean. If I knew then what I know now. Things usually do turn out okay though. I’m glad that was the case for you. Generally if you’re good enough to get that offer, others come along too.

      1. Miss Gentileschi

        Wow! I didn´t know they still teach that! You should definitely do it! I´m sure it´s going to be a great experience 😀 And if you do – please take lots of pictures!;) Cheers!

      2. milfordstreet Post author

        Well, that might have to wait while I work on a masters degree in education. I think this will be a busy couple of years. But at least I’ll never run out of things to do.

  1. AYR

    Very interesting fir me as I lived it. Took first printing class in 1965. Using the above type case. Ended up teaching printing until retirement in 2014. It’s come a long way from lead type to digital presses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

