Changes in Latitude

Portrait

This coming weekend, Milford Street will have a new look for a couple of months. This goes along with a change I’ve been working on in my life. It is time for a new venture. I’ve decided that after 30 years in my current field and over 20 years as a manager to leave that behind. May 6th was my last day of work.

For almost two years, I’ve volunteered teaching English to refugees and immigrants settling and living in our local community. The work and the students greatly appeal to me. About a year ago, I started having ideas of going back to school to become a teacher of English as a Foreign Language.

Over the Christmas holidays, my wife and I decided that I would leave my current job and return to school full-time beginning in September 2016. Also, on Friday, I will be leaving for El Salvador to volunteer teaching at a school for girls for eight weeks. So, once I get established in El Salvador, I’m hoping to show all of you that part of the world. Over the next few days, I’ll try to tell you about the process that has occurred over the past few months.

Cheers!

85 thoughts on “Changes in Latitude

  1. mickey2travel

    This is fantastic, Sir! Congratulations on your current accomplishments, and only the very best of success on your future ones! I’m looking forward to following you on your next great adventure. We’ll be thinking about you and praying for you as you start your new life!

    Reply
  2. Pupazzovi

    Also I am a teacher, I teach primary school children.
    It ‘a difficult job, but it can give a lot of satisfaction.
    I really admire those who can make a change in their lives.
    I give you my best wishes.

    Reply
  3. loisajay

    I so admire you for quitting your job for something so very meaningful. Best wishes to you, Chris, in your new adventure. I am really looking forward to hearing about this.

    Reply
  4. Osyth

    This is wonderful news. I sence you are following your hearts … in my half-baked world this is the way to live life. I look forward to your updates and wish you so much joy in this adventure which in turn, by the very fact of teaching will bring more good to more people than most can even dream of in a lifetime 🙂

    Reply
      1. milfordstreet Post author

        Gracias but I’ll be in a small city where presumably there is internet. So hopefully Milford Street with by Novena Calle Poniente for 8 weeks.

  5. Nancy

    Following your dream is so very important! Looking forward to reading about your journey!
    (I have been absent as I was in Europe… I hope to post about it soon.)
    Good Luck my friend!

    Reply
  6. SOHEIR

    Congrats Chris!
    Your life is always full of changes and adventures!
    Best wishes for your new journey.
    Cheers Chris!!

    Reply
  7. zdunno03

    Good luck on your new adventure. I’m sure there’ll be much inspiration for you. And since I spent over 20 years working/teaching with immigrants, I know how rewarding this new path will be for you.

    Reply
  8. Sandhya

    Wishing you all the best as you follow this admirable path! Looking forward to your posts from El Salvador!

    Reply
  9. inavukic

    Really looking forward to your new “strand” of photos and displays – sound like a great new life’s adventure, Christopher – good luck 🙂

    Reply
  10. Hammad Rais

    Heartily congratulations on starting up a new chapter of your life. I’m sure you must be feeling really very excited about this because this is what you love the most.

    Well, may be one of the things you love most 🙂

    Reply
  11. SyedaFR

    Wow! That looks amazing. May it be just the right thing for you! I’m glad to know, that you too are a teacher! I could learn so much from you!! 🙂
    Stay happy and blessed Chris! 🙂

    Reply
  12. Miss Gentileschi

    The best of luck to you, Chris!!! 🙂 I´m looking so much forward to see the pictures from your amazing adventure!! Cheers!
    P.S. It might take a bit time til I can write you an email – I sunburned my eyes quite badly at that party I was telling you of, so my pc time is very limited… 😦

    Reply
  13. MK

    How exciting & inspiring, Chris. Congratulations on your decision. I look forward to your stories and photographs to come.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

