Welcome to Santa Tecla

I am alive and well and living here in Santa Tecla, El Salvador. I spent the weekend getting to know the city. There are traditional markets with individual stalls in which you can buy one type of item (clothes, fresh vegetables, fruits, etc) and a supermarket that rivals anything we have in the US. Walk down any street and you’ll find a pupuseria, making the national dish, pupusas; or perhaps a panaderia selling fresh baked goods. Often these are set up in the front of people’s homes. I’ve learnt how to get from the house where I am staying to the school in which I’ll teach and to the local markets. I’ve eaten way too many times in my neighborhood and need to branch out a little bit.

Today, I thought that I would show you a bit of one of the central plazas called Parque Daniel Hernandez. It is hot in Santa , and I decided to hang out here on Saturday afternoon to take advantage of the shade and cool breeze. A few hundred locals also showed up. Among the crowd were people selling food and clothing. An ice cream cone is $.35, but there is only Neapolitan flavor. You can buy belts, boxer shorts, shirts and socks.
Hanging out, I got to meet some of the locals. I’ll introduce you to one tomorrow.

FYI – My internet access is very spotty. If you comment and you don’t hear back from me right away, my apologies.

Cheers

26 thoughts on “Welcome to Santa Tecla

  1. Miss Gentileschi

    It looks so beautiful there!! And I love the vibrant colours and the sunshine illuminating everything so brightly!! 🙂 So glad that you´ve had a safe trip and enjoyed your weekend!! Can´t wait to see all the pictures you´ll make!!! Hasta luego 😉

    Reply
  2. The Coastal Crone

    What an adventure for you to be living and working there instead of just visiting as a tourist! The plaza reminds me of places in Mexico where people come out to gather and socialize. I will look forward to your wonderful photos from your creative eye and camera. All the best to you, my cyber friend! Keep in touch!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

