Alfredo

Alfredo

This is Alfredo. He is a vendor selling belts in the park. On Saturday when I took photos there, he seemed to be trying to get my attention. I went over and asked if I could take his photo. He agreed and liked what he saw on the screen on the back of my camera. Later he came over and chatted with me. He speaks no English and I don’t understand everything he says but he likes talking with me. And I like talking with him. He does not try to sell me. And he told me he is there daily.

Sunday, I had this image printed and found him in the park to give it to him. He seemed pleased and proud to showed it to his two friends, also vendors. Now, I have three friends. The park is near the school and I can stop buy on my break to chat a bit. It is not deep conversation. They are curious about life in the US. I have enough language skills to ask about their families and such.

41 thoughts on “Alfredo

  1. Dymoon

    I’m so happy that I can follow your days.. learning a new language and being able to just visit on a day to day with new friends.. bravo.. yesterday’s lesson was Brinde aplausos al Makoto (sincerity) de las personas. and I applaud YOU…

    Reply
  2. Miss Gentileschi

    That sounds perfect – making friends while doing the thing you love πŸ™‚ If you continue to make friends at this rate, probably everyone in this town is your friend when you leave πŸ˜‰

    Reply
      1. Miss Gentileschi

        Yippiieeh!! That would be so lovely πŸ˜€ You already know how much I like postcards πŸ˜‰ Everytime one of my friends goes on holidays I beg them to send me one!

      1. Prior-2001

        Well not that you have “too much” life seasoning – but more than a starting 22 year old – and the desire to be educating – and so that will add so much!

  3. mopana

    What a beautiful post, Christopher πŸ™‚ I liked the photo and the fact that you’ve made friends. Cheers!
    Enjoy your staying! πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

