Mi Colonia – My Neighborhood

Time to show you where I am staying. Our area is pretty good. It is common for small shops to share space with dwellings. There are a lot of security gates and such.

The first three shots show the Pupuseria Merliot across the street from where I live. They are a nice family trying to make a go of it in a place in which every street has a little restaurant selling pupusas (stuffed tortillas). They wonder why I don’t eat more pupusas.

Next is a shot of Taco Loco and I live in the casita to the left. Taco Loco does a great business. Between this and the pupuseria, I am never hungry. You can see a couple of the guys who work there. The next shot shows the side of the street where I live.

Next is El Comedor de la Ahijada de Marina. My landlady works here. You can get a nice lunch for a few dollars. There is more variety than the pupuseria.

After that, you can see a small convenience store. Unless they can afford security, small tiendas like this usually work through a grate of some sort. Finally are shots of out local pharmacy and bakery. Bakeries are almost as common as pupuserias here.

Welcome to the neighborhood!

32 thoughts on “Mi Colonia – My Neighborhood

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      I am able to get in through the wifi of the restaurant next door and at school. Otherwise, I’d have to be at a coffee shop or Internet cafe. There are security issues. You don’t walk around with your mobile phone out or flash having a nice laptop. It is one of the things about home I miss. You need to make sure your going to be staying in a good area if you come. But this is not that different from many other cities. It is just not suburbia USA.

      Reply
  1. laurieanichols

    I love the personal feel to your neighborhood pictures, the people seem very nice and hard working, I’m so glad that you are doing great in your new “home” Chris!

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      It is a nice community and I am trying to integrate as best as possible given the language barrier. But it is going well. Thank you, Laurie. Cheers

      Reply
  2. SCMGA

    I don’t see the Green Monster anywhere in the background, but I do see lots of good looking food. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Osyth

    ‘On the street where you live’ has always resonated, not for romantic reasons but because I think the one can begin and continue to affect the other. In French we say ‘ dans mon quartier’ …. I suppose America adopted Quartier as Quarter from the get-go πŸ™‚

    Reply
      1. Osyth

        It’s from My Fair Lady …. The exorbitantly handsome Jeremy Brett mimed it in the movie …. His voice was presumably as bad as Audrey Hepburns …. Proof that we should not have every gift bestowed πŸ˜‰

  4. Miss Gentileschi

    What a lovely post, Chris! ItΒ΄s so nice to see where you live πŸ™‚ And the food looks good – I can understand why youΒ΄ve eaten more in the first days πŸ˜‰ Cheers!

    Reply
      1. Miss Gentileschi

        Hahahaha! Lol! ThatΒ΄s hilarious!!! πŸ˜€ If you do have to make a sign like that, pleeeease make a picture of it! πŸ˜‰ Cheers and thank you for a lovely and funny image your words created πŸ˜‰ !!

Leave a Reply

