Flower Girl

Flower Girl

I don’t do a lot of portraits but if I can get a photo of a person or something that I thing they would enjoy, I’ll get it printed and share it with them. It is a nice thing to be able to do given the skill set I have to make and edit images. And for me it is easy… at home in the US where I can easily go to a local lab or use a mail order service.

It is a different story here. I can spend an hour on the bus going to a true photography shop. Instead, I’ve been going to a copy shop near school that requires me to print an entire 8.5 X 11 inch sheet. They do a good job but I have to wait until I have four photos for 3.5 x 5 inch prints and format them to print on a single page. Then I bring the flash drive there and they print it. Their paper cutter is broken, so I bought a ruler and utility knife to separate the images.

People really like receiving these little gifts. Think about it. If it is this challenging for me, then how often do local people get photos printed. It likely does not happen often. My guess is that something that is a nice gesture back home is more significant here.

I printed this for Wendy. She was just sitting there and smiled at me. I clicked the shot. No posing, nada.

32 thoughts on “Flower Girl

  1. laurieanichols

    Wendy is a beautiful little girl, I’m sure her parents are thrilled with your generous gift. Chris you are making such an impact in such a short time, how very cool. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. Prior-2001

    well you are a stud for following through with the delivery – and what effort – and yes, I hear ya on how why they likely do not get more of their own printed – so all the more special.
    And this Wendy photo made me smile – and the blue with the yellow and her nice skin tone and smile – give it a ten.

    side note – I have had diverse experiences with handing out photos. I guess it was when I was doing it too much – and then one season I ran into one or two “entitled college aged students” – really – like one girl I delivered her “promised” 5 x 7 photo to said she wanted a larger one…. for real. I even framed it… and her attitude was just Off.

    But I think it is super nice when you can give them a gift like this – and looks like you are having a nice fit there….

    Reply
  3. Miss Gentileschi

    Absolutely lovely!!! πŸ™‚ And to hear what efforts you take to get them printed makes your wonderful shots even more spectacular!!! ItΒ΄s awesome how you can make people happy with these “little” gifts, and again: here everyone takes it for granted… 😦 Wish you a great weekend and hope that cold doesnΒ΄t stay too long with you! Cheers!

    Reply
      1. milfordstreet Post author

        I am heading to the beach for lunch today with a group of teachers and then tomorrow joining an excursion to some thermal pools to soak away my remaining cold symptoms. Cheers!

  4. sloppy buddhist

    It’s wonderful and yes ppl love little gifts…amazing places and I can see you sharing all your wonderful kindness and positive energy…lucky people to be around you Chris!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

