Sunday Morning Shoot

My first day here, I made some photos in the plaza and market. When Marina, my Salvadoran life-coach and landlady, and Joaquin saw them, they cautioned me to not have my camera out in the downtown lest it get stolen. This caution was repeated for the first few weeks that I was here.

But the market area has the shots that I really want. Risks can be managed. Sunday morning, I went to the market as the vendors were setting up at 6:00. My theory is that thieves are essentially lazy and that they are still sleeping at this hour. I also believe that they would rather steal in a crowded market where they can blend in than stand out early in the day.

Even Joaquin and Marina could not argue with this logic. Both laughed in acknowledgment of my Yankee wisdom. These images and the ones from yesterday were the ones I made that morning. At last!

30 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Shoot

  1. Stephanae V. McCoy

    Hahaha my ex-husband shared your logic. I used to explain to him my worries of getting mugged or worse early in morning while going to work and he would say the criminals were off duty by 6 am. Great shots.

    Reply
  2. Thomas P. Johnston

    I had a few questions. What are the family dynamics in El Salvador? Family structure? #2 Where are the boys, young men? Are they not attending school and are working at an early age. #3 What sort of occupations or jobs are the parents of these girls?

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      What are the family dynamics in El Salvador? Family structure? Almost all families have children and people think it is odd that it is not the same in the US. Many families are missing one or both parents. We did a family tree exercise and in one class almost every student had a question because their family was not intact. Often a household includes not just parents and minor children but other family as well. It is not unusual for a couple to have one or the other’s parents living with them or a parent with adult children living at home.

      #2 Where are the boys, young men? Are they not attending school and are working at an early age.
      Boys are also in school. You are seeing all girls because I am at a school for girls. The school for boys is next door. I see them on the streets. I don’t know if there is a difference in the number that complete school vs drop out.

      #3 What sort of occupations or jobs are the parents of these girls?

      They might work in a small business (small store or restaurant) or selling things in the market. Others may have service job working in the trades or cleaning homes. There is am unbelievable number of people in the city who work as police and in private security guarding stores or restaurants. People who have better incomes (doctors, lawyers, etc) can generally afford to send those children to a private school.

      Reply
  3. Alexandra

    lol, that’s great logic and getting up early has often helped you get some amazing images in the past, I remember well πŸ™‚
    and these are awesome images too, Chris!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

