Happy Father’s Day

When I signed up to teach here in El Salvador, the organizer sent me a list of holidays that would occur during my stay. The most prominent was Father’s Day which was celebrated on Friday the 17th here and is being celebrated today in the U.S. Joaquin Batres, who runs the program, and I discussed a project the girls could make as a gift for their fathers. Whatever we did had to be scalable to 160 students. Inspired by a gift from my friend Brit, I ordered 180 pieces of wood in various shapes and a set of colored pencils. The girls spent part of this past week decorating them for their fathers.

Not all of the girls have fathers. You can see one girl below made one for her mother as a belated Mother’s Day gift. The girl pictured with me below, bestowed her Father’s Day gift on me. If that does not melt your heart, nothing will.

Special

Happy Father’s Day

31 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

