Lessons Learned: Week 5

Morning Delivery
Don’t spend five minutes of class time handing out prizes to the winning team in a contest. Deputize one of the students to do this task. They take the authority very seriously and do a better job than you.

If someone asks for something special don’t give it during class. Everyone will want it. Tell them to see you after class. I doubt you’ll see them again

If the class won’t quiet down and focus, write the wrong date on the board. If you write “December 25, 1969” that gets them to focus really quickly.

I can now almost eat pupusa like a native. It sounds simple, but let’s see you eat two pupusas with veggies and salsa and only use one napkin.

When I am tired, I can barely speak English. Speaking Spanish is a real challenge.

Life is unpredictable enough. When you don’t speak the native language well, it is even more unpredictable. In any outing, I am always the last person to know what is going on.

You have to be who you are in this world. I’m amazed how much my life here mimics how I spend my time and, with the notable exception of my relationship with my wife, the relationships I have back in the USA.

10 thoughts on “Lessons Learned: Week 5

  1. spanishwoods

    It reminds me of when I was very young and started reading about various religions. I was so surprised to see parallels again and again from one religious dogma to another. It was amazing to me. Things are rarely as different as we assume they’d be.

    Reply
  2. Miss Gentileschi

    Lovely post, Chris! Laughed when I read about your board trick 😉 That´s really clever. And I know exactly how it feels, talking in a foreign language when you´re tired – it really is very difficult! Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

