Lesson Learned: Week 6

Arch BW

This week’s lesson is that anything can happen. On a typical Wednesday, the news came down that the Ministry of Education had decided that the public school teachers of Santa Tecla could benefit from additional training. They cancelled classes for this week and are providing said training to the teachers of the city.

Friends in the US are likely asking how that can happen. Child care needs to be arranged. Three days is not enough time. Yes, I know. I’m sure parents here a bit perturbed also. But it can happen, just the way shops can close for lunch hour and there can be one day strikes that disrupt our lives when we travel abroad. I’m sure we do things that make people in other parts of the world wonder and scratch their heads also.

For many volunteers, this would be exciting. They would go to the beach for the week or take off to Guatemala. But, I am not much of a “playa” guy and came here to work in the community. I asked Joaquin about options. He’s been very generous with his time with me. Even though, it’s not really his job to keep me occupied, he helped me with a few ideas and making connections. We are told when we sign up to expect the unexpected.

Through a connection that Joaquin has, it sounds like I’ll spend some half days helping out at a program for people with special needs. The lady with whom I am staying belongs to a parish that has a big program to help feed the poor and homeless. She is going to bring me down tomorrow morning to help out. A friend and his cousin want to improve their English. The cousin wants a job at a call center. We are going to work an hour or two a day on their English speaking skills. They are hungry for knowledge and ask challenging questions that send me to the internet looking for answers.

Something that rocked my world for a few hours is all working out. I also am preparing slide shows to present to the school. When I return to classes on July 11th, that is my last week here.

Arch

33 thoughts on “Lesson Learned: Week 6

  1. Cezane & Michelle

    You’re doing a great job there helping the people! And the lesson behind this post is incredible, especially where you said our actions may leave people on the other side of the world confused! – Michelle

    Reply
  2. mopana

    Happy Fourth of July to you and your lovely wife, Chris! I know you’re away, but soon you will be close again 🙂
    Hugs and kisses ❤
    🇺🇸

    Reply
  3. Osyth

    Great attitude – find the value in the way things are. I am sure you will find this week hugely fulfilling and return refreshed to the classroom for your last week even better equiped than before.

    Reply
      1. Osyth

        I volunteer with Les Restaurants du Coeur in France which take food that would otherwise be thrown by restaurants and shops and distribute to the homeless. I would like to find something similar here in the US or a Soupe Populaire (soup kitchen or place that provides meals) .. I’m working on it and salute you for getting stuck in where there is such great need 🙂

      2. milfordstreet Post author

        Thank you so much. The soup kitchen is actually pretty fun. I’m heading back down there in a few minutes for the evening meal. Enjoy the Pops, either live or on TV.

Leave a Reply

