The People That You Meet

Cafetalon 1

Just about every time I go to El Cafetalon to exercise, I run into someone I know either there or in transit to or from the park. At first, it surprised me, because this seldom happens back home. The more I thought about it, the more it made sense. In the US, I am part of a spread out commuter culture. Here, people live and work in the same city. Also, they don’t all get in their cars to go places. Many walk or take the bus. Being out on the street provides a way of seeing a friend that does not happen in one’s car. It reminds me of the neighborhood in which my grandmother lived in Boston while I was growing up. It is definitely one of the more appealing aspects of being here.

The idea of exercising in view of a volcano still thrills me.

7 thoughts on “The People That You Meet

  1. Cezane & Michelle

    Great post! This is why I like smaller towns because every time I go out I see people people I recognize (some from when I was at school, too) and its nice ^.^ – Michelle

    Reply
  2. Osyth

    I was just saying to my husband yesterday that it is always the case that in a city or town you walk far more and that it is a GOOD thing. One of the things, conversely that I miss about being here in the US is not bumping into people I know pretty much whenever I go out of the door. Partly because I am in the car almost always and partly because we are a much more spread out community. Enjoy the volcanic work-outs …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

