My Last Week

image
(The image above is of my final class with Grade 7B. As I went to leave, the girls all made hearts with their hands)

It is my final week here in El Salvador. It is time to wrap things up and say good bye. It is difficult. There are things that I wanted to work on and do that are not possible because there were no classes last week. My guess is that I would still feel that way even if there had been classes last week.

It’s difficult to say good bye to the students. Despite the fact that they have several volunteers each year coming to their school, they really seem to feel a loss with my departure. In a situation like this, you naturally feel closer to some students. Some, I doubt I’ll ever forget.

Many volunteers at the school are repeat visitors. Several times, I’ve been asked when I’ll return. The honest is answer is that I don’t know. My coming here was part of distinct plan at this point in my life. Currently, I’ve no plans to return. That makes it difficult for both them and me. While it has not always been easy these past seven weeks, there are things here that I will miss.

Of course, I’ll miss the school, and teachers and students. I’ll miss being called “Profe”. I’ll miss the fun you can have in teaching children English that you don’t have in teaching adults where I volunteer back home.

image

There are other things that I’ll miss also. Sunday was my last festival evening on Paseo El Carmen. Exercising in the open air if El Cafetalon while looking at a volcano will never get old. The hill in the image above mesmerizes me with a beauty I cannot really capture here. It is the view above the courtyard of the school. The gently rolling profile and trees dotting the top are such a peaceful scene. It can quiet my thoughts on even a noisy late afternoon at the school. And there are the countless faces I’ve grown used to in the community.

Goodbyes are all a part of the process; a part of life. And I can continue to tell myself that, but it does not make it any easier.

40 thoughts on “My Last Week

  1. Prior-2001

    open air exercise with that view – whew – I’d miss it too- and the photo here really captures so much with the smiles and hearts – I think it is hard parting ways after any teaching season – but all the more when it is in a foreign land. But the shared heart imprints will linger for the students and teacher – in many ways- safe traveling C

    Reply
      1. Prior-2001

        and congrats to you Chris – what a beautiful adventure.
        and as you part ways – don’t forget that this is how you will get to those other lives that you will soon touch.
        “parting of ways is such sweet sorrow”
        but the heart has a nice memory and now you and the students have other adventures to add to your heart and psyche – while the shared imprints has made each of you better…
        xoxo

  2. loisajay

    I am terrible at good-byes so I love you telling all you will miss. I am so happy, though, that this was such a wonderful experience for both you and all the people there. Not many get to experience what you did. You have made a tremendous impact on the lives of all you have touched, Chris. They won’t forget you, Profe.

    Reply
  3. Garfield Hug

    Awww all good things must come to an end! I am pretty sure you will return one day and hopefully I can join you as a volunteer. I shall be hopeful😊
    Thank you for the marvelous sharing you did through your posts ☺👍👍Have a good journey home!!

    Reply
  4. Miss Gentileschi

    That´s such a cute photo!! 🙂 They wouldn´t do that for just anyone! 🙂 I can´t believe that this is your last week!!! Time really has flown by, hasn´t it? And who knows: there might be a time when you do want to go back, it could be years from now ;)And if you do: don´t forget to bring your flipflops with you!!! 😉 Cheers!

    Reply
  5. Osyth

    Goodbye’s are something I am terribly bad at. The only way I can do it is to think I will return. Maybe you will, maybe you won’t but you are leaving a lasting imprint on the hearts of those children and you have made a difference. As they have to you and what you have learned you will now be sharing in the next chapter of your life with needy people in a different contect. Chapeau, sir – I salute what you have done 🙂

    Reply
  6. Hammad Rais

    Those little hearts will provide endless joy to you for the rest of your life. And I’m very much thankful to you for taking us along in your journey 🙂

    Reply
  7. suzannesmom

    I know I’m repeating myself, but I have SUCH admiration for what you are doing, MilfordStreet, and wish you the best of luck on following thru with your plan. You have meant something to these people.

    Reply
  8. mopana

    So, time has passed, Chris. Anyway, you’ve had an experience for life. They will be in your heart forever. And, who knows, maybe one day you will return. Cheers!

    Reply
  9. Andy Smart

    Hiya Chris > Yes yes > For any teacher the worst part is saying goodbye to your students. Such a downer 😦 > well in the case of the UK its also the national curriculum blaaaagh Your class looks awesome mate as does your classroom.. Its been a while. Hope u are well and have a good week:)

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you Andy. I am back in the US and readjusting to life at home. It was sad to say goodbye but I’m pleased with the work I did there. And I was lucky. They gave me the topics and I came up with the curriculum to teach it. Cheers!

      Reply
      1. milfordstreet Post author

        Well, sort of. I left my job and am heading to university for a Masters in TEFL. But I have 9 weeks free. I’ve not had that kind of time off since I was 14. No big travel plans but want to do all the things locally that my wife and I have always wanted but never found the time. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

