May I Take Your Order

image
I’ve continued to help when I can this week at the Posada. After serving the food to a table is six, I’m expected to take the drink order. How challenging can it be to get a drink order right when the options are water or coffee? I mean even if Spanish is not my first language and I’ve never waited tables, is it all that hard?

Well, they can request a large coffee or water. Or they can request a small coffee or water. And they have a special word for the small that I’ve learned to say but can’t imagine how to spell. Some think the coffee is a bit too hot and want coffee with water.

Then there was the lady this morning who decided to have fun with her “Spanish as a second language” (SSL?) waiter and asked for “cafe con leche”. It took me a few seconds to realize she was asking for coffee with milk; something definitely not on the menu. We then both had a good laugh.

I’ve managed to get all of my drink orders correct, so far. But I tend to confuse the heck out of the kitchen staff (pictured above) while placing my order. Sorry!

16 thoughts on “May I Take Your Order

  1. williamleeone

    Anything for a free cup of coffee, Chris ? So have you seen anything of Juan, the coffee picker? I suppose he has retired by now , what with his television royalties and such. BTW I could not get the mower to start; the guy at the shop saif he would have it ready by Sep. sometime. ; )

    Reply
  2. Osyth

    I love the cafe con leche story! In France if you want a large coffee (not a tiny espresso sized one which is just called un petit) about 50% of the time ask for un grand cafe and confusingly in the other 50% of places you ask for un allongΓ©. There is not even a geographic reason behind who serves what and there is no difference but you can be sure they will give you ‘the lemon face’ which is a sort of pinched blank frown if you get it wrong. a smile normally wins the day πŸ™‚

    Reply
      1. mopana

        Welcome home, Chris! πŸ™‚ πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
        🍬 🍭 🍫 🍰 This are for the welcome back party :))
        xoxo ❀

Leave a Reply

