The Price of Admission

albany-palace-theater-marquee
At the point at which I left my job to start a new career, I was ready for a change but I was also at the top of my game. People inside and outside of the college routinely called me for consultation. I could prepare reports and written materials quickly and effectively. I was always on top of issues and out ahead of problems. I could talk extemporaneously about the nature of our work to visiting professionals. A couple of years ago, I was asked with five minutes’ notice to join a panel discussion in front of over a hundred people at a conference; sure, no problem.

Last weekend, I opened my textbooks for my new career and started reading. There are all these strange new theories that I am trying to wrap my head around. Some sections of text have to be read two or three times to figure out the nuances. There is new terminology and acronyms that I am trying to learn and remember. By the way, ESL seems to have rather dull acronyms; so far, they don’t spell out any cool words.

I’ve gone from expert to novice, but that is the price of admission in starting over with a new career. It’s also the excitement of starting over. Even though I’ve had some experience as a volunteer teacher, I don’t know the theory behind why the teachers do what they do. It’s fun trying to figure out how everything fits together and start to consider what theory best fits how I perceive people’s learning. Becoming a novice again may be the price of admission, but I’m hopeful that it will be a good show.

This image was made a couple of years ago in Albany, New York

28 thoughts on “The Price of Admission

  1. reocochran

    I admire your new adventure and it is special to feel a little uneasy and out of place. While changing paths us challenging, you certainly have the right (positive) attitude! Smiles, Robin

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Willard Farm | look around!

  3. The Little Mermaid

    They say change is the only constant. Indeed! And it brings about with it new adventures, an element of positivity and courage. I believe change should be embraced in its totality. It makes life beautiful. Cheers to your spirits and wish you best of luck in your new odessey.

    Reply
  4. Miss Gentileschi

    You’re a true adventurer Chris! And a very brave man. Many would love a new start but don’t dare to do it. This speaks of the high level of your passion for your new career and you definitely will be rewarded for it! 😀👍

    Reply

Leave a Reply

