Helping Rosita

portrait
Something different today…a request…for help…if you can.

I’d like to introduce you to Rosita. She was one of the students that I taught in El Salvador this summer. Rosita is a quiet girl, a little shy; one of the 9th grade girls.

Rosita suffers from a severe form of myopia called “degenerative myopia”. Basically, her eyeballs are rapidly growing longer. It’s a rare condition that can happen to teens and young adults like Rosita. Typically, people with degenerative myopia go blind.

rosita-and-doctor

Rosita’s condition can be treated. In El Salvador, they treat this with a multistep process. First, she has to wear these special eyeglasses for ten months. The photo above is her with her ophthalmologist working on getting new glasses. Afterwards, she will wear contact lenses and then later have an operation. With help from Teaching You (the group with whom I volunteered), Rosita has taken the first step and has her glasses.

glasses-2

But the rest of the process costs $1,000 USD. While that might sound not so expensive to my American friends, El Salvador is a place where people make $200 a month on average. Basically, the cost for Rosita’s treatment is equal to five months wages in her country. There is no health insurance there to cover the cost of saving Rosita’s vision.

I’ve not asked for donations for a cause like this before. If anyone would be willing to make a donation to help Rosita save her vision, even a few dollars or Euros or whatever currency you use, please go to https://www.gofundme.com/saving-rositas-sight-2tunvg4

There is no pressure, I’m just trying to help out be spreading the word of this need.

Thank you for reading

37 thoughts on “Helping Rosita

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you so much Sarah. Yes, you’ve also had some vision difficulties lately. We take our sight for granted all too often. Cheers! And I hope you’re feeling better.

      Reply
      1. Miss Gentileschi

        Yes, sadly we do 😦
        I´m feeling a bit better by now, thank you. Still have to limit my time at the computer though – it´s too straining after a while.
        Just shared this on FB and asked everybody to share it… hope it helps! Have a lovely saturday! Cheers!

      2. milfordstreet Post author

        Oh, thank you. I appreciate you sharing this with others. I am hoping people are willing to help Rosita. Good luck recovering from your own eye issues. Cheers!

  1. noblethemes

    Absolutely wonderful that this girl has been given real hope . . . that she will not go blind. Thank God! And thank you so much for this post for such a worthy cause! All the best to you w/blessings!

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you so much, Osyth. Because of the economics, many medical conditions are untreated there and they have their fair share of “snake oil” salesmen peddling miracle cures. Rosita needs real treatment to save her vision. Hopefully, thanks to contributions from yourself and others, we can help her achieve that. Cheers!

      Reply
      1. Osyth

        It’s a pleasure … we should never lose sight of how fortunate we are (and that was a deliberate pun). Through you, the plight of El Salvador has become very real to me.

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you Nancy. I never knew of it until I met Rosita. Whoever heard of someone going blind from myopia. It is rare and treatment is more readily available in the U.S. I am hoping that we can help get her the treatment she needs there. Cheers!

      Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you so much, Judy. Your help is very much appreciated. I will be sure to ask Joaquin for updates on Rosita. It’s a bit of a process and hopefully it will ultimately help. Thank you again.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Helping Rosita – Spatzenblog

  3. Pingback: Helping Rosita – Spatzenblog

  4. reocochran

    I have had laser surgery for narrow eye glaucoma on both my eyes and now, have a cataract surgery scheduled for Friday, October 28. I feel bad but my eye sonogram and the surgery are only covered after I reach my deductible. Life is tight here. . . My prayers that someone may help and bless them for their generosity. ❤

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you for the positive thoughts and prayers. Rosita needs those also. I hope your cataract surgery goes well. Some family have had it done and say it’s pretty easy. Cheers!

      Reply
      1. reocochran

        I am okay with the surgery just discouraged at my facing these between my fifties and now sixty one age, since my Mom had her cataract surgery while 80! Oh, well not complaining, just adding the age part. 🙂 Hope you know it is okay to ignore my rain of belated comments, Chris.

      2. reocochran

        It’s just that I know blogging can be quite a distraction from studying! Waiting, not ignoring. . .
        I have several blogging prayer lists so I am sincere about Rosita. ❤

  5. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

    Reblogged this on NewEnglandGardenAndThread and commented:
    A while back, a blogging friend in MA volunteered in El Salvadore and made many young friends. One is in need right now of some medical assistance. If you are feeling like you’d like to help someone this weekend instead of just buying more candy, here is an opportunity for you. Even the price of a bag or two of candy could help this young lady see into a bright future. ❤️

    Reply
  6. Les

    I feel for this poor Lady. Let’s hope all turns out well. BTW – Thank you so much for liking my Posts most all the time. It’s appreciated.

    Reply
  7. Jeanette

    I googled “Teaching You” as mentioned in your post, but I couldn’t find any references to it on line. How can I learn more?

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Hi. Go to Teachingyou.org and you’ll find it. The coordinator there continues to work with the webmaster to improve his online presence. They have a good setup in El Salvador if you’re interested in teaching there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

