If You’re Not Doing Something All the Time…

Milford street - img_8697

A couple of years ago, I heard a cast member of one of those outdoor reality shows say that in the wilderness “If you’re not doing something all the time, you’re doing something wrong.” The same applies to trying to do an eighteen-month graduate program in a year.

We are halfway through the first semester. I’m enjoying it and learning so much. The faculty are wonderful. It is a small program, and there is a benefit to that. The classes are fun and the assignments are interesting. For example, the image above is from a class this week in which a guest lecturer talked about and demonstrated her use of origami to teach English.

Still, taking graduate classes for the first time in fifteen years has been a bit of an adjustment. In addition to the usual reading, tests and papers, we are required to journal, spend fourteen hours observing in at least three different classroom settings, contribute to discussions online, prepare lesson plans and perform teaching demonstrations. My background managing projects is coming in handy. I pretty much viewed the semester as a big project and developed a plan for workflow. It is allowing me time to get my assignments done without feeling overwhelmed. This helps to focus me on learning rather than just getting assignments done.

So, my life is busy. The football game is still on the television on Sundays, but I don’t get to see much because I’m usually editing papers or something. We still have time for an outing here and there. I’m trying to fit fall chores in between assignments and doing a little bit at a time. Life is good and in less than a year, I’ll be a teacher.

24 thoughts on “If You’re Not Doing Something All the Time…

  1. loisajay

    I admire so much what you are doing, Chris. Being able to manage your time and your projects is huge, isn’t it? I love taking a project and breaking it down to soundbites that assure me everything will get done timely. Proud of you, teacher!

    Reply
  2. suzannesmom

    I’m impressed that you are doing 18 months in a year. Good thing you are a project manager! I went back to school as an adult, a young adult, and found I was much better at prioritizing than when I was an undergrad. My son was 3 at the time, a powerful reason to focus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

