Foliage Along the Nashua River

milford-street-nashua-river-foliage

Last Sunday, I pulled over by the side of the road to make this image (made and edited in my iPhone) along the Nashua River in Hollis, NH. Wind and rain had caused us to lose much of the foliage, but this spot still looked quite nice.

milford-street-porcupine
As a bonus, say hello to my little friend. He is a porcupine that I’ve met a few times while hiking. He lives around an often traveled pathway along a dam on the conservation land near home. He is rather cute but is low on the cuddly scale. This was also made with my iPhone from about ten feet away and then cropped to enlarge him a bit. Sorry, that it is a bit grainy.

28 thoughts on “Foliage Along the Nashua River

      1. williamleeone

        I see that you-all are ahead of us in the fall color department; very nice color this year. Is that critter an armadillo wearin a spike hair wig !? ; ) Wild life so different from what we see in our part of the country reminds me of how very large our entire country is ! ; )

    1. milfordstreet Post author

      I think this guy is an anomaly. Usually, they are nocturnal. He may be somewhat habituated to people because of where he lives. I’ve never been stuck and don’t want to be.

      Reply
  1. Garfield Hug

    What a beautiful river side view! Loved the autumn colors and a genuine living porcupine to boot! Sadly we have no porcupines by the roads. Just ants, flies and birds ha ha😊

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you. Even if you lived in this part of the world, seeing a live porcupine in the wild is pretty rare. I would imagine that you have some lovely birds. Cheers!

      Reply
  2. Ann Coleman

    Very nice photo of the leaves! They are just beginning to turn where I live, but the color is minimal so far. Lots of the leaves are just turning brown and falling off.

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      We are fortunate that leaves here look pretty before they fall. Some trees just turn brown and that’s it. Most of our leaves are down now. I may take a ride south to Boston this weekend and see how things look. I hope you get to see some pretty colors. Cheers!

      Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      The porcupine is not as loved as other animals because he is shy and prickly, but I’ve discovered he is a cute little guy with a fairly tolerant temperament. Let’s hope I can watch the game and not study all afternoon. Are you a football fan, Canadian or otherwise?

      Reply
      1. sloppy buddhist

        Well I love all critters ☺️ hmmmmm not really a sport fan of watching BUT I live with sport man and our daughter and her husband are NFL fans…if I’m around I usually edit photos and blog and eat the foods they make…so I have fun in my own way πŸ˜€ hoping you enjoyed the Sunday games Chris! Cheers 😊

Leave a Reply

