The Old Jordan Marsh

tree-at-macys

The holiday lights are on at Macy’s in Boston, but when I was growing up it was Jordan Marsh. It had the cool elevators with the glass doors, so you could see the cars move up and down. At Christmas, the windows were all decorated and they had an Enchanted Village, a kind of Santa’s village with animated figures. The Enchanted Village still exists but is now at a nice, customer-friendly furniture store in the suburbs. The windows still get decorated but are difficult to photograph due to reflections. They even have carolers out front.

carolers

But they don’t have the Jordan Marsh blueberry muffins. The old department store had a bakery that sold the best blueberry muffins. But, I have the recipe, which my friend Peter suggested I post to share with all of you as a public service. So here it is…Enjoy:

Jordan Marsh Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter
1 1/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups blueberries
Sugar to sprinkle

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy. Blend in the eggs. Sift the dry ingredients together. Add the milk and dry ingredients alternatively to the creamed mixture. Add blueberries (1/2 at a time) to the mix and stir. Grease the muffin tins and fill to the top of the cup. Sprinkle with a bit of sugar. Bake for 25-30 minutes at 375 degrees.

39 thoughts on “The Old Jordan Marsh

  1. loisajay

    Oh, muffins in the morning! Supposed to rain tomorrow here in sunny Florida. Sounds like a ‘blueberry muffins for breakfast’ kind of day. Thanks so much, Chris. The Christmas tree is absolutely gorgeous.

    Reply
  2. Peter S

    Thanks! Earlier this month, my son was helping make some Christmas cookies. At the back of his kids cook book there is a list of questions the kids can ask adults. One is ‘What is your earliest food memory?’. Mine was going to Jordan Marsh and having muffins with my grandmother when I was about six.

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      I think muffins with grandmothers must have been a “thing” when we were growing up. I have similar memories. She used to like the Hearth and Kettle or someplace nearby also. Enjoy!

      Reply
  3. noblethemes

    Beautiful and so lively and colorful; it warms my heart … yes, even down here in south Alabama, where not much “warming” is needed! LOL πŸ™‚ By the way, would you mind if I borrowed the recipe for Jordan Marsh Blueberry Muffins for the Cuisine section of Pax et Dolor (blogzine). Of course, I would kindly give you credit! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. mopana

    A beautiful Christmas atmosphere, Chris. That’s why we love this period of the year, right?
    I love the Christmas tree and its colors. And the muffin recipe, too πŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend, my friend!
    Mo-Hugs ❀

    Reply
  5. dunelight

    Lovely photos, do you still think of it as Jordan Marsh?
    As far as I’m concerned it is still Hudson’s here in West Michigan and in Chicago? In Chicago it’s Marshall Fields, baby!

    Oh, I seem to be standing on a soap box of brand loyalty.

    Don’t get me started on the re-naming of baseball parks. Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  6. reocochran

    Downtown cities are reviving those old-fashioned stores with elaborate holiday decorations. I enjoyed this post and unique story about the old Jordan Marsh.
    In Columbus, Macy’s and The May Company were beautiful like this Jordan Marsh.
    I used to love going to a store with my parents called Sterling Linder in Cleveland, Ohio where their inside floors looked out during 11 months upon a square space overlook. At Christmas, though, there was a multiple stories high tree. I have an old postcard with the tall, decorated tree. Smiles, Robin

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Wow, that sounds like it was beautiful memory.. I think I mentioned living in Greater Cleveland for a time in the 1979s. I have a recollection of going in to see Christmas decorations but don’t recall where.

      Reply
      1. reocochran

        Your post inspired my memories, Chris. You may have been visiting one of these stores: Lazarus, May Company, Higbee’s or Halle’s. The downtown has changed and become similar to a smaller NYC, with Cleveland Public Square adding new space and a large skating rink.

        I had forgotten you mentioned this timing. I was living as a young married teacher in Bowling Green, Ohio. I had my first daughter there in 1980. πŸ™‚
        My parents moved to Vermilion by 1979 and so less often traveled to Cleveland. Now, both brothers, my SIL and mother live around the west side suburbs. . . I like how circles intertwine or paths intersect. I loved Massachusetts in 1970 the most but we visited there over my childhood probably 6 times.

      2. milfordstreet Post author

        I wonder if my parents remember. My father worked at the National City Bank operations center. I do recall Terminal Tower. I was back about 10 years ago and took in a game at the then Jacobs Field.

Leave a Reply

