Small Scale

lights-on-the-fence

The past couple of days, I’ve posted images of some gorgeous Christmas lights in Boston. Today, I show you our little lights. This is the first year we’ve ever had lights outside. We bought two string of white lights and wrapped them around the split rail fence around the side flower garden. After running outside to plug them in at sunset and unplug them before bed, I splurged and purchased a device to do the turning on and off for me…a wise investment.

22 thoughts on “Small Scale

  1. Ann Coleman

    I love the up close photo of the lights! And I had no idea there was a device to turn them on and off from inside. Did it come with that strand of lights, or did you buy it and it works on any strand? Because our porch lights are plugged in on the far side of the porch, and it would be great not to have to dash out there in my jammies late at night to turn them off! (My neighbors would agree, I’m sure.)

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      It was a separate purchase. I think it cost me $12 at Job Lots. You plug it into the outlet and can run three different items off of it. It will turn the lights on at dusk and then you can decide how long they stay on. With arctic temps and a snow storm this week, it was $12 well spent.

      Reply
  2. dunelight

    I love those outdoor Christmas lights. It is a joy to have them all on a timer or an indoor switch. I always seem to be in pajamas and slippers when it is time for that task.

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you so much, Hedy. I’m going out with friends this week to show them the lights of Boston and hope to get some nice shots. Have a great week getting ready for Christmas. Cheers.

      Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Yes!!! We’ve lived here for sixteen years and this is the first time we even had holiday lights outside. We like the look and I fear we will be the strange couple that keeps their lights on well after Christmas and New Years. Have a merry holiday, Christy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

