Happy New Year

Christopher OKeefe and Class 5A

Oh, what a year 2016 was. From January to May, I overcame my fear and left my former career. Up to that point, I had so much doubt and anxiety; but once the decision was made, it all started to feel right. Ironically, the decision was made between Christmas and New Year’s last year. From January to May, I closed out my former job, trained my replacement and left in such a manner as to keep that door open should I need it. While doing that, I found a volunteer teaching placement in El Salvador, learnt a ton of Spanish and learned how to make some basic lesson plans. Mid-May to mid-July, I spent living and volunteer teaching in El Salvador. While I loved it and it was an incredible experience, it was never easy. But as I enter my new career, I know what it means to get off a plane in a very different culture where they speak a different language and try to make my way in the world. This was followed by a two-month rest, after which came the start of full-time graduate school to work on my Masters of Science in Teaching English as a Foreign Language.

My plan is only mid-way through. Over the next eight months, I need to finish graduate school and then begin my new career in earnest. I think it will continue to be an interesting time in my life. In terms of my photography, I have been making so many images this holiday break and have a few surprises for you in the new year.

My thanks to my wife, my family and my friends both here on WordPress and in other realms of my life.

NOTE: This was by far my favorite image of 2016. While made with my camera, the photo credit goes to Joaquin Batres.

36 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

    Wonderful photo to end the year with. Very few people ever encounter someone who has researched ‘customer service’ like you have and are continuing to do. Your students are lucky people to have you lead them down the road to the English language. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. suzannesmom

    If you never did any other public service (but you will), whatever those children in El Salvador took from your time with them will have ripples for generations. Really.

    Reply
  3. reocochran

    Hurray for stepping out in faith and finding a new direction to head, Chris! Keep us posted and we will continue to cheer every way we can! Happy 2017, to you and yours, as well as those lives you touch. . .

    Reply
  4. Miss Gentileschi

    It’s a wonderful photograph of a truly magnificent time of your life! Wish you all the best for your future plans and career, Chris!! And can’t wait to see the surprises! πŸ˜„ Cheers!

    Reply
  5. Alexandra

    what a remarkable year you’ve had indeed, Chris!! so 2016 could be said to be the year of changes for you, hope 2017 will be the year of new career beginnings πŸ™‚ stay inspired!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

