Out in the Storm

cardinal

My break from school ends on Monday. Over the past four weeks, I’ve tried to get out on a variety of shoots to get a bank of photos to choose from over the upcoming weeks. It’s difficult to get out to make photos when I’m taking classes. Some shoots were successful and others not so much. I wanted to go to a living history museum this weekend for photos in the snow, but a warm rain storm put an end to those plans. On the other hand, a trip to southern Maine during a warm spell last week provided me with a ton of images.

This was the easiest image to make. I took it in my stocking feet from our living room during a storm. The poor cardinal did not have it so easy, but he left our yard well fed.

45 thoughts on “Out in the Storm

  1. BuntyMcC

    Perfect composiition. I love this. And the rain adds texture and mood. I thought cardinals were red and the females brown; but we don’t have them in PEI, so what do I know?

    Reply
  2. Alexandra

    simply stunning!! what an amazing moment, love the rain and the clarity of the photo is perfection, Chris!! what lens did you use?
    hope you will have a great weekend before going back to school… πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you. My Canon came with a 75-300 mm lens. I don’t use it much but it’s great for shoots like this. Thanks, it will be a snowy weekend with good food and a warm fire. Have a good weekend. Stay warm.

      Reply
      1. Alexandra

        so it came in very handy πŸ™‚ yeah, I thought it must be a lens ca. or longer than 200 mm…
        oh, good food and warm fire… just wonderful, enjoy!!

  3. Miss Gentileschi

    Ah, so glad you fed the poor fellowπŸ˜„ What a lovely bird it is! We don’t have cardinals here in Europe so I enjoy these kind of pictures even more. Great to hear your outdoor shootings were partially successful too, I look forward to see them. Cheers! πŸ˜„

    Reply
  4. reocochran

    This was a really fantastic shot considering rain and dark skies. The female cardinal is so pretty when yellow with several other tones to their feathers, Chris. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

