Thursday Doors: The Door Table

I made this table from the old cellar door that was on our house. It had to be replaced last year and was partially water damaged. You can see the original door here. I liked the part that was undamaged and the vintage hardware. I cut away the bad material and built a frame to support the legs. To make the legs, I borrowed my father’s tapering jig and learned how to use it. It needed a bit of bracing on the legs. The base is made from recycled pallets that I get from a local ceramic tile shop. I cleaned up the metal parts of the hardware and repainted the black portions with glossy black paint.

39 thoughts on “Thursday Doors: The Door Table

  1. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

    Very cool project, and I’m pretty sure it might be the first Thursday Door ‘table.’ We’ve used doors for temporary tables, desks, sewing area, work area, and for plant displays. But, this might be the first permanent door table I’ve seen, and I like everything about it – repurposing, color, and great hardware. Nice one. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. milfordstreet Post author

      Thank you. I really like to try to figure out new ways to use old items. I’m not always able to. This door sat in the barn a few months before I got the idea for table. They must have some cool old doors in Latvia. Cheers

      Reply
      1. milfordstreet Post author

        Well, to balance it out, there is also a big picture window out there that I was going to make into a cold frame for my wife. It’s been there years and is no closer to being a cold frame.

      2. Ilze

        I had to Google for “cold frame”! OMG! That is something I need to!! But it looks easier to me than door table!

  2. Norm 2.0

    Sorry I almost missed this one – if you’re not using the link-up list please don’t forget to add a tag “Thursday Doors” to make it easier for me to find it.
    That is definitely our first door/table. A very clever way to give an old door new life.
    I got into making tables with tapered legs when I first started in woodworking and have a similar jig in my shop πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

